top of page

Day 8 afternoon: Freshwater and the GRC

When we arrived at the Gerace Research Centre last week, we were asked to take navy showers and otherwise conserve water. This trip has helped me to think about what I can do better to conserve water, because we have been thinking a lot about freshwater resources and how they are limited on this small island.


Today we learned a little bit about how the GRC collects rainwater for use at the station. The GRC collects rainwater in a rainwater catchment that was constructed by the U.S. Navy when this was a naval station. The rainwater catchment was constructed on an ancient dune, which has turned to rock and now makes a hill behind the station. This hill has been covered with concrete to create a surface that is impermeable to water. When it rains, the water collects in the catchment and runs into a drain. Currently, we are in the dry season for San Salvador, so we weren’t able to see this process and the catchment was empty.



After the rainwater is collected, it is pumped into treatment and storage containers. The first step in treating the water is to allow the sediment and any other particulates to settle out. The second step is to treat the water to make sure there is no bacteria in it. The next container is where freshwater is stored for use at the station. The water storage is pretty big, about 25 feet tall. This year there was plenty of freshwater, because there was lots of rain in January, but sometimes water at the station can be rationed. Water being rationed is something I have never thought of before. Having no freshwater is just mind-blowing.




I know that I am going to do a better job in my family of three to conserve water, even though I have no fear of running out of freshwater. Old drinking water can be used to water my house plants. I can try to take shorter showers, or maybe try to take navy showers sometimes. I can get some rainwater bowls to collect rainwater to water my flowers and for washing the car and other outdoor cleaning. If the Bahamians of San Salvador can live knowing that they could run out of freshwater and be conscientious of water conservation, I think that we could be better in the United States. As the Lakota say “Water is Life.”


-Contributed by Mary


Photo credit: Mary and Liz

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page